ACER General Ability Tests (AGAT)

Author(s) : ACER Press

Publisher : ACER Press, 2008


In stock
Available for backorder
Qualification required
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
AGAT Specimen Set


Qualification required
In stock
AGAT Manual and USB


Qualification required
In stock
AGAT Test Booklet 1


Qualification required
In stock
AGAT Test Booklet 2


Qualification required
In stock
View all

Range: Years 2 to 10
Purpose: To assist teachers in their assessment of students' learning potential and overall aptitude.
Administration: 40 minutes — group

The ACER General Ability Tests (AGAT) are a test of general ability suitable for students in Years 2 to 10.  They are a thoroughly researched and nationally normed assessment instrument.

Each test includes verbal, numerical and abstract reasoning items.

Key Features

  • Large Australian norm sample
  • Provide a multifaceted estimate of students’ level of general intellectual ability and aptitude
  • Can be administered individually or to a large group
  • A common scale for all nine tests gives teachers the flexibility to match test level to ability and monitor development over time
  • Include percentiles and stanines that allow for comparison with a national norm group at different year levels
  • Provide scale scores for different strands (verbal, numerical and abstract reasoning) to help identify specific strengths and development needs.


  •     Identify students who could be selected for extension programs
  •     Identify students who may need special diagnostic and remedial attention
  •     Compare results on AGAT with measures of student achievement
  •     Provide information that may be used in setting realistic goals and planning effective programs of work
  •     Locate areas of weakness and strength for individuals or within a class
  •     Monitor the development of students' reasoning abilities over time
  •     Provide an indication of learning potential.

Year Levels

AGAT comprises nine tests of increasing overall difficulty covering a range of year levels. The following is a guide to which test level is appropriate to each school year:

Test 1 - Year 2 or 3

Test 2 - Year 2 or 3 or 4

Test 3 - Year 3 or 4 or 5

Test 4 - Year 4 or 5 or 6

Test 5 - Year 5 or 6 or 7

Test 6 - Year 6 or 7 or 8

Test 7 - Year 7 or 8 or 9

Test 8 - Year 8 or 9 or 10

Test 9 - Year 8 or 9 or 10

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:ACER General Ability Tests (AGAT)
ACER Press

The following qualifications are required to access this product. Please login or register to proceed
Please contact ACER Customer Service on +61 3 9277 5656 if you have any queries.

Create an account
Already registered?